ColorQube 8870
Ratings and Reviews

ColorQube 8870

ColorQube 8870 is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst printer ever! I've been providing IT desktop support for over 20 years and have never had to work with such an unsatisfactory printer as the Xerox ColorQube. It is garbage and the engineers who designed and built it should be ashamed and required to go back to school to get recertified! Do not buy this printer...new, used, refurbished, etc.! Trust me!
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems from day 1 Print Park Sensor, Drips Oil, Noise We opened the device and could not pass one page through the rollers, it would not even kick the demo page out on initial startup. Move forward 2 months xerox finally sent a tech to fix this brand new unused printer. Fast forward 1 year, I have disassembled and re homed the park level sensor, etc.. It continually looses its park location and then will not print, to fix this you must remove the entire shell to get at the left side of the unit and force the park lever to unstick itself. I have since done this procedure about 12 times, we are getting rid of the unit this summer, good riddance. Oh yeah also if you leave the unit for an extended period of time you will come to the office with oil spots all over the paper that resides in the lower tray, causing you to throw out perfectly good copy paper....
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality print No matter what program I ask this printer to print in (from PDF to 16 bit) it gives me quality finished documents.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably good letter size color laser printer I'm kind of a printer snob; our small office currently has five printers of various sizes and shapes, and this little guy is the best of the bunch. We're in a visual profession, and the output quality is professional-grade. Photographs are rich, saturated and beautiful. So it gets an A+ for image quality. Other aspects are merely excellent. It's easy to set up and use, the controls are mostly self-explanatory, and jams or other malfunctions are rare. I especially love the color cubes, which, though not cheap, are clean, easy and almost fun to replace. No toner cartridges to feel guilty about not recycling. There is a maintenance kit you have to change out every once in a while, but it's also easy. We run labels, cover stock, and envelopes through this thing with little difficulty. In short, if your printing needs are mainly letter size, and you value excellent image quality, ease of use, and reliability, this is a printer you should seriously consider. I would absolutely buy it again.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Xerox Solid Ink Printers This is my second Xerox solid ink printer...and just as happy with this one as I was with the first! Great printer! Solid Ink is so easy to use and print quality is excellent. Tried another brand of multi-function printer but was very disappointed with priont quality and reliability. Ended up returning it and went back to Xerox...and couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Suitable for Heavy Use We have over 100 of these installed across 26 sites used in Reception, and work areas. Most of these have 2 extra paper feed trays and we have them set to print labels, letterhead, and plain paper. Good Points: Print Quality is amazing! Waste product is minimal Speed: Prints quickly when set correctly Bad Points: "Violent" yes, I would describe the way these print as quite violent. When set to print quickly, they seem quite violent when they print. Paper is pulled in quickly, and shoots out quickly and loudly. Noisy - Easily the loudest printer I have ever worked with Technicians are unable to repair the printer (lack of knowledge of new product in NSW Australia, but Xerox are trying their best to train up their staff) No Technicians available (I think we overloaded the Xerox system with technical faults) Failures and Faults galore. For 3 months, we have been booking repair calls for the reception printers that get high usage with an average of 1.5 calls per day (across 26 sites) We've had to report up to 6 different printers in a single day having failed with errors such as: - Oil leaking on the pages - Loud Grinding noises internal, printer won't start - Printer fails to initialise - PostScript fails to initialise Recommendation: I think Xerox have more robust models that may work better with high volume, but the 8870DN is much more suited to light use, when you want super quality printing
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good, expensive to fix- learn from my mistakes We have had the ColorQube 8870 for about 3 years now and use it only moderately. The wax ink can rub off/scratch a little, but overall it has been a good printer until recently. We have had to repair it twice in the last 6 months, and the first time I made the mistake of calling xerox. They charge a $300 minimum for the first half hour and $75 for each additional 15 minutes after. Parts were only about $150, but they ended up charging us over $900 to repair the printer. Such a waste. I'm still deciding if it is worth it to fix this printer the second time or cut my losses. I contacted a local xerox service provider the second time we needed repairs. Their service would cost about $500, but that's only because the parts this time are so expensive compared to the first time ($200 for 2 hours of labor and $300 for parts). I'm still deciding if it is worth it to fix the printer again or just buy a new one.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent printing anf fast speed I recommend the xerox colorcube 8870
Date published: 2015-03-20
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en, sid_CQ8870, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_xerox