ColorQube 8900
Ratings and Reviews

ColorQube 8900

New ConnectKey software adds features and fixes for your ColorQube product, and wins rave reviews from customers around the world.

ColorQube 8900 is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality and Reliable Support!! I am very please with this product and will be more than glad to recommend it to anyone looking for a color laser printer!
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it Setup was easy, no real issues. Just be careful about loading printing cartridge. Fast, responsive, power savings, wakes up easily and prints very fast. No software issues I can name. Sales rep Michael Murnane was very cool dude, I loved the fact he knew his product well, he was smart and followed up strong to make sure I was happy, I'd buy again from him. This is my 2nd xerox machine.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs improvement Prints Too slow and the scan to email feature can not be tamed A shame since my firm has been solely xerox copiers for 35 years Look forward to a new improved model that handles 11. X 17 paper When will it be released
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complete Failure When we decided for this multi-function printer, the sweet-point was printing with reduced cost. Indeed, using plant-derived eco-friendly wax as ink is cheap. However, unplanned indirect costs (low reliability) renders the printer to be a complete failure. As far as I know even Xerox now turns away from this mutant beast and throws out the whole ColorQube product family. Issues we encountered: While printing quality is OK for an office environment, print resolution and color quality is mediocre. Print heads often fail to properly do their jobs and stripes becomes visible on the print. I would never recommend this technology in any office where print quality is an important factor to consider. There are several built in tools (head cleaning, head re-allignments) especially designed to troubleshoot these issues but experience shows print quality never gets perfect. The control software of the instrument is over-complicated with plenty of bugs and annoyments. There are settings that can be set only from the embedded web server while others one can only reach locally at the the keypad of the machine. There are "settings" that are practically effect-less. In our hands, it was impossible to convince the unit to ignore the bypass tray. Even when bypass tray (tray1) was closed down (and was manually configured as A5), any A/4 print job sent out using "automatic tray selection" stopped due to "Missing resources" at tray one. Needless to say that we had 2 other automatic tray filled with A4 paper. In the end, we decided to print from the bypass tray, later we set manual tray selection in the printer driver. Likewise, there IS an option to set paper substitution rules between letter and A4 for instance but those rules just don't work and you keep receiving "Missing resources". Obviously, such error immediately cause a complete halt the whole printing service, affecting all other jobs in the queue as well. Shutdown time and reboot time are both ridiculously long. Printer works like a good old Windows 95 computer: there always appear some issue that can be solved by a reboot (expect a reboot cycle to take 10-15 minutes). Printer (ink) smells rather bad and printer is extremely noisy. Printing speed is usually very slow. Out of the 109 000 printed pages printed so far on the unit, at least 1000 was printed by field engineers as they were trying to fix and/or test the unit. This printer is amazingly unreliable. After we had it for 1 year, we tried to send it back to the company and demand an another printer model but out attempt failed. In the last three years we encountered all possible breakdowns including complete replacement of the scan control board, replacement of the hard drive, several re-installation of the firmware, replacement of broken paper driving units, failing media trays, issues with failing ink sensor, LAN communication issues, broken ink cleaner unit, malfunction of large arrays of print heads and things like that. We could fill an entire book with service reports. Once, broken document feeder parts just started falling off the unit as the engineer opened up the side door. Frequently, the unit reports paper jam at tray1 although there is obviously no paper visible. Yet, printer refuses to print or copy (scanning and fax still operational). A reboot does help to "cure" this situation until the same error strikes again. Half of the printer's inside parts were already replaced to solve this problem but the issue keeps coming up time to time. If such systems are still on sale anywhere on Earth (hope they indeed die out like Dodo-s did) DO NOT BUY it. Without a doubt this model is the WORST printer ever made.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Xerox 8900 Copier Connie K Balfour, Adminstrative Assistant @Calvary Love the copier! Michael Murnane was most helpful with the purchase of the Xerox 8900. Service from Lon Sanders at Shop Xerox eConcierge Support was again most helpful. Connie K Balfour Calvary Baptist Church Quincy IL 62301
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features The print is amazing, much better than a laser printer. We use this product for all of our proposals, brochures and anything that we are going to hand to a customer or potential customer.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Copier Ever Used This is by far one of the worst copiers i have ever used. The software is horrid and the boot process takes ages. We just had our copier replaced and I fear it will be just as bad as our previous lemon. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRINTER!
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colorqube is AMAZING This is the second time I have purchased this printer. I recently switched jobs and my employer needed a new printer. I highly recommend this machine!
Date published: 2016-04-05
  • y_2017, m_8, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en, sid_CQ8900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_xerox